Back to top

Opinions

by The Narwhal on Tuesday Nov 13 2018

By  Ben Parfitt, from The Narwhal

When a public regulator repeatedly makes major decisions that favour corporate interests — quietly and behind closed doors — we have a problem.

British Columbia’s Environmental Assessment Office bills itself as a “neutral” provincial agency.

by Letters to the ... on Monday Nov 12 2018

To The Editor:

by Sara Golling on Monday Nov 12 2018

As pointed out by Dermod Travis of Integrity BC, there’s been lot written recently, both for and against proportional representation.  For those having trouble deciding how to vote, try the link provided at the bottom of this piece.

by David Suzuki on Wednesday Nov 07 2018

News about orca mother Tahlequah carrying her dead newborn for 17 days through the Salish Sea this summer was heartbreaking, and rightfully captured the world’s attention. It highlighted the plight of one of Canada’s most endangered marine mammals. The southern resident killer whale (orca) population has dropped by 25 per cent in two decades.

by Contributor on Monday Nov 05 2018

Editor's Note: In this age of fake news, when politicians are allowed to lie with impunity -- perhaps even encouraged to lie, because they appear to get good results by lying -- how are people reading the news, or social media, where bizarre fake news abounds -- to know what to believe? For that matter, is it ever a good idea to believe something that is not true?

by Letters to the ... on Sunday Nov 04 2018

So far, most of the discussion about Proportional Representation (PR) has focused on fairness. Without a proportional voting system, there’s no way to make every vote count equally. But there are other reasons to adopt it, arguably as valid: it would bring social and financial stability and cut waste.

by Dermod Travis on Sunday Nov 04 2018

Having survived two referendums in Quebec – the 1992 Charlottetown Accord and the 1995 referendum on independence – I feel I might have a few experiences to share and some kindly advice to offer.

On the first front, referendum campaigns are rarely fun affairs, which flows to the second part, time to dial it down.

by Letters to the ... on Sunday Nov 04 2018

To The Editor:

For those British Columbians who are uncertain about the choices offered in the Proportional Representation referendum, and have not yet voted, there is an alternative voting system that could well work for most citizens and most political parties.

by Dick Cannings MP on Thursday Nov 01 2018

This week the House of Commons passed Bill C-76, the Elections Modernization Act, the federal government’s answer to the so-called “Fair Elections Act” that the Conservatives enacted in 2014.

by Letters to the ... on Thursday Nov 01 2018

Several times in our province we have had election results distorted by our current voting system (first past the post).
As a result the political landscape has been plagued by polarized politics for as long as anyone can remember and many voters find themselves voting to block something they despise and/or not having their vote represented at all.

Pages