Municipal election candidates confirmed

Kyra Hoggan
By Kyra Hoggan
October 11th, 2014

The nomination period for municipal elections closed today at 4 p.m., and Trail’s chief electoral officer Michelle McIsaac has released the names of fully four candidates wanted to replace Trail’s retiring leader, Dieter Bogs: Doug Jones, Roger Catalano, Mike Martin and Ian McLeod.

The election will be held Nov. 15.

Incumbent councillors seeking re-election include Eleanor Gattifoni-Robinson, Robert Cacchioni, Kevin Jolly, Rick Georgetti and Sean McKinlay. Newcomers seeking office at Trail’s council table will be Carol Dobie, Donal Park, Lisa Pasin, Fred Romano and Sandy Santori (although Santori is an incumbent insofar as having served as both Trail mayor and MLA in past years).

Running for school board trustee will be Lorrain Manning, Mark Wilson and Terry Hanik, all of Trail.

Meanwhile, Castlegar’s chief electoral officer Carolyn Rempel has released the names of the candidates in our sister city.Running for mayor will be incumbent Lawrence Chernoff and regional district director Gordon Zaitsoff (who is also running again for his seat with the RDCK, against RIck Smith).

Five council incumbents running are: Susan Heaton-Sherstobitoff, Kevin Chernoff, Florio Vassilakakis, Deb McIntosh and Dan Rye. Newcomers throwing their hats in the ring are: David Grantham, Tyler Maddocks, Bruno Tassone, John Phillips and Kere MacGregor (there are six seats on council).

For SD 20 trustee, we have Eileen Brunton of Castlegar, Mickey Kinakin of Thrums and Catherine Zaitsoff of Robson.

Watch the Castlegar Source and Trail Champion in coming weeks for candidate profiles and other election coverage.

Categories: GeneralPolitics