Columbia Basin Trust fills vacant positions on board

April 30th, 2024

Suzan Hewat is joining the Board of Directors of Columbia Basin Trust, becoming part of the 12-member Board which helps ensure that the organization continues to support the efforts of the people in the Columbia Basin.

“I’d like to welcome Suzan, who, with fellow new members Angus, Karen and Christine, will be part of a Board of Directors that reflects the diverse interests of Columbia Basin communities,” said Katrine Conroy, Minister of Finance and the Minister Responsible for Columbia Basin Trust.

“I’d also like to thank departing members Aimee, Carol, Corky and Dave for their service.”

From Kaslo, Hewat replaces Aimee Watson as the RDCK nominee and joins three other new members announced earlier this year:

  • Angus Graeme from Nelson
  • Karen Hamling from Nakusp
  • Christine Hoechsmann from Cranbrook

“We are thrilled to have Suzan join the Board, adding a Basin-focused and community-minded voice around the table,” said Jocelyn Carver, Chair.

“We look forward to her contributions and perspectives.”

Hewat was raised in Nakusp and has been in the finance field for over 40 years, working for the same firm for over 22 years in Kaslo. She has served the community of Kaslo in many ways including volunteering with the Kaslo Daycare Society, 1st Kaslo Scout Group and Kaslo Minor Hockey to name a few.

She was also a Village councillor for 10 years before becoming Mayor in 2014, a position she continues to hold. She also serves on the Regional District of Central Kootenay board and as a committee member on the Federation of Canadian Municipalities.

“I am grateful for the support of the RDCK Board, especially Chair Watson, whose encouragement has been invaluable,” said Suzan Hewat.

“This role offers a wonderful opportunity to deepen my understanding of the Trust and of what matters most to the people of the Basin, and I am eager to work alongside the Board and staff in the coming years to contribute to the well-being of the region.”

Board of Directors must reside in the Basin. The five regional districts in the Basin and the Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a director, and the Province of BC appoints the remaining six directors.

For biographies and more information on the Board of Directors, visit ourtrust.org/board.

This post was syndicated from https://thenelsondaily.com
Categories: BusinessGeneral


Other News Stories