Four teams left in hunt for Cyclone Taylor Cup

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
March 31st, 2011

By The Nelson Daily Sports

Four teams — three league champs and the host Ghostriders — begin the final chapter in quest for the Cyclone Taylor Cup Thursday in Fernie.

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League champion, Osoyoos Coyotes, Pacific Junior Hockey League winner Richmond Sockeyes, Vancouver Island Junior champs Peninsula Panthers and host Fernie Ghostriders take to the ice at the Memorial Arena.

The opening game in the four-team round robin schedule is KIJHL’s Desert Dogs meeting Richmond Sockeyes at 3 p.m.

The host Riders meet Peninsula at 7:30 pm.

Friday, Peninsula plays Richmond at 3 p.m. while Osoyoos battles Fernie at 7:30 pm.

The final round robin games goes Saturday with Peninsula playing Osoyoos at 3 p.m. and Richmond up against the Riders at 7:30 p.m.

The top two teams meet in the final Sunday at 6 p.m. while the bronze medal game goes at 2 p.m.

The last two Cyclone Champions — Richmond Sockeyes and Revelstoke Grizzies — have gone on to win the Keystone Cup, emblematic of Western Canada Junior B Hockey supremacy.

The Keystone Cup is set for Sherwood Park, Alta., April 14-17.


This post was syndicated from https://thenelsondaily.com
Categories: Sports